| On Jan 4, 2022 4:32 PM IST

SA vs IND: Virat Kohli to miss South Africa ODIs – REPORTS


Virat Kohli to miss South Africa ODIs: In a massive breaking news, Virat Kohli might miss the upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa due to his ongoing injury concerns. India’s Test captain was not available for selection in the ongoing second Test against South Africa due to upper back spasm as reported on the match day after which Hanuma Vihari replaced Kohli in the playing 11. South Africa is scheduled to lock horns with India in as many as three ODI matches scheduled on 19, 21 and 23 January, 2022 respectively.

SA vs IND: Virat Kohli to miss South Africa ODIs

According to a recent PTI report, Virat Kohli might have to miss the entire ODI series against South Africa in order to completely recover from his back injury. However, this report comes after stand-in Test captain KL Rahul had stated that Kohli should recover in time for the third and final Test match against the Proteas scheduled to begin from 11 January, 2022 in Cape Town.

“He is having an upper back spasm and the physios are on him. Hopefully he will recover in time for the next Test,” said India captain KL Rahul at the toss during the second Test match against South Africa.

Related: South Africa ODI Squad Announced for India Series

India vs South Africa

The first two ODI matches between India and South Africa will be played in Paarl while the final ODI game is scheduled to be held in Cape Town. India’s full-time ODI captain Rohit Sharma has already been ruled out of the South Africa tour due to hamstring injury. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently appointed KL Rahul as the stand-in captain for the three ODI matches against the Proteas while Jasprit Bumrah will be his deputy. The selectors have also showed faith in some youngsters like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkatesh Iyer while Ravichandran Ashwin has made a comeback into the India ODI squad for the first time since 2017.

Related: India vs South Africa 2021 Schedule

India ODI Squad for South Africa Tour

KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

Related: Virat Kohli Press Conference before South Africa Tour


For more SA vs IND 2021 news, click here