Cricket News
| On Jan 23, 2022 1:38 PM IST

SA vs IND: Why is Ravichandran Ashwin Not Playing Today?


SA vs IND: In a massive development, India’s senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will not be playing the third and final ODI against South Africa. The last game of India’s tour of South Africa will be played at the Newlands in Cape Town. Hosts South Africa have already won this three-match ODI series taking an unassailable lead of 2-0 after their comprehensive wins in the first two ODIs against India.

SA vs IND: Why is Ravichandran Ashwin Not Playing Today?

India captain KL Rahul won the toss and has opted to bowl first in the third ODI game. Rahul mentioned during the toss that the visitors have made as many as four changes in their playing 11 from the last match. The likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Venkatesh Iyer and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will have to sit out for this match. Jayant Yadav has replaced Ashwin in the side while the trio of Deepak Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav and Prasidh Krishna have also been included. Ashwin has not been able to pick up wickets on regular basis in the middle-overs stage during both the ODI matches on his return to Indian ODI side.

IND Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Shikhar Dhawan
KL Rahul
Virat Kohli
Shreyas Iyer
Rishabh Pant
Suryakumar Yadav

Deepak Chahar
Jayant Yadav
Prasidh Krishna
Jasprit Bumrah

Yuzvendra Chahal

Related: Top 5 Fantasy Cricket Picks for SA vs IND 3rd ODI

“One more opportunity for us, a different venue, we have won the toss so hopefully we can start well with the ball and then go on to get the runs. We have forgotten what has happened in the first two games. We have some plans. There are a few things we need to fix. Four changes. Suryakumar Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Prasidh Krishna and one more guy (Deepak Chahar) come in. Ashwin, Shardul, Venkatesh Iyer and Bhuvi miss out,” said Indian captain KL Rahul at the toss.

Related: India vs South Africa 3rd ODI Cricket Betting Tips

India vs South Africa 3rd ODI Live

On the other hand, South Africa have also made a change to their playing XI from the previous game. In a surprising move, chinaman bowler Tabraiz Shamsi who has been a key wicket-taker this ODI series has been replaced by seam-bowling all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius and the hosts will be playing with a lone spinner in Keshav Maharaj.

SA Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Quinton de Kock
Janneman Malan
Aiden Markram
Temba Bavuma
Rassie van der Dussen
David Miller
Dwaine Pretorius

Andile Phehlukwayo
Keshav Maharaj
Sisanda Magala

Lungi Ngidi

Related: India vs South Africa Today Match Prediction


For more SA vs IND news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.