| On Jun 11, 2021 1:13 PM IST

Sri Lanka vs India squad: Who is Simarjeet Singh? India’s net bowler for tour of Sri Lanka 2021


Sri Lanka vs India squad: In a massive recent development, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 20-member squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour starting on 13 July. India’s senior opener Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed as the captain of the side that consists of a number of youngsters and some white-ball specialists like Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Sri Lanka vs India squad: Who is Simarjeet Singh?

While considering all the necessary Covid-19 guidelines, India have also included five net bowlers in Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Simarjeet Singh and Sai Kishore. It will be a huge opportunity for 23-year-old Delhi pacer Simarjeet Singh as he will be travelling with the India team for the Lanka tour. Simarjeet picked up a total of 11 wickets at an average of 28.45 during the last Vijay Hazare Trophy season for Delhi and ended as the joint second-highest wicket-taker for his state team. Overall, in 19 List A matches, he has taken 19 wickets at an economy of 5.36.

Other than Simarjeet, Arshdeep Singh has also performed consistently well in two back-to-back season for the Punjab Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Tamil Nadu off-spinner R Sai Kishore is the only spinner amongst the five net bowlers in the India contingent for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour. In 25 List A games, Sai Kishore has scalped 45 wickets. Also, the duo of Ishan Porel and Sandeep Warrier have done impressively for their respective state teams on a consistent basis at the domestic level.

Related: India Playing 11 for Sri Lanka ODIs

Sri Lanka vs India

Even in the absence of star players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, India looks a potent side to beat Sri Lanka on their home soil in the upcoming SL vs IND ODI and T20I series. The Sri Lanka tour will also be a great test of India’s bench strength with some fresh faces like Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan and Chetan Sakariya being given the opportunity to express themselves at the biggest stage.

Related: Rahul Dravid Named India Head Coach for Sri Lanka Tour

India squad: 

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

For more SL vs IND news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.