T20 World Cup 2021: Aaron Finch Leads Australia to first ever T20 WC Title

Published on: Nov 14, 2021 10:52 pm IST|Updated on: Nov 24, 2021 1:57 pm IST

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2021: After displaying some sensational performances in the group stages followed by the semi-finals, Australian cricket team have been crowned as the winners of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The Aaron Finch-led side defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets. With wicket win over Australia clinched their first T20 World Cup and 8th ICC Trophy. Coming into the tournament the Aaron Finch-led side were in horrendous form as they won only 8 games in 24 T20Is. However they turned their fortunes to lift their maiden T20 World Cup trophy.

Kane Williamson leads from the front as New Zealand posts a total of 172 runs 

Asked to bat first, New Zealand made their intentions clear as openers Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell went straight after the bowlers and smashed them all over the park in the first three overs. However, Josh Hazelwood came back strongly in the fourth over and bowled tight lines to remove Daryl Mitchell, who managed to nick one-off, ending the 28-run partnership.

Read Also: Matthew Wade sixes off Shaheeen Afridi storms Australia into T20 World Cup 2021 Final – WATCH

The wicket of Mitchell, slowed down the New innings as Australian bowlers bowled in great areas and gave away only 4 runs in the next two overs to reduce New Zealand to 32/1 in the power play.

After being watchful initially, skipper Kane Williamson smashed Mitchell Starc for 19 runs in the over and turned momentum towards his side. Just when it seemed that things were going the Black Caps’ way, Adam Zampa removed Martin Guptill for 28 runs to break the partnership that was threatening to hit top gear.

Guptill’s wicket didn’t stop Kane Williamson to take on Australian bowlers as he went on to smash the fastest fifty in the final of a men’s T20 WC final. The Kiwi skipper made everyone go bonkers as he yet again took charger to Starc and smashed him for 22 runs in the 16th over. Though Josh Hazelwood brought Australia back in the game Neesham and Seifert helped their team post a total of 172 runs, the highest total in a T20 WC final. For the Men in Yellow’, Josh Hazelwood was the pick of the bowlers and finished with the figures of 3/16.

Related: David Warner SIX off a double bounced ball – WATCH

Australia wins first ever T20 World Cup

Chasing the target, though Australian batters showed positive intent but Trent Boult troubled skipper Aaron Finch and removed in the third over for just 5 runs to give his team the desired start. The dismissal of Finch was a blessing in disguise for Australia as Mitchell Marsh came out all guns blazing and along with Warner kept scoring comfortably to stitch the fifty-run partnership.

T20 World Cup 2021

Just after scoring the half-century David Warner perished as Trent Boult rattled his stumps for 53 runs to give New Zealand some hope. However, Mitchell Marsh continued his red hit form and smashed a brilliant fifty. He along with Glenn Maxwell finished the job for this team and helped them to lift their maiden ICC T20 World Cup trophy by 8 wickets. Marsh remained unbeaten 77 on while Maxwell scored 28*. For the Black Caps, Trent Boult was the pick of the bowlers and finished with the figures of 2/18.

Read Also: Shaheen Afridi video mocking Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma goes VIRAL – WATCH

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article