T20 World Cup 2021: Who won the Man of the Match & Player of the Tournament? Check Details

Published on: Nov 14, 2021 11:27 pm IST|Updated on: Nov 24, 2021 1:57 pm IST

T20 World Cup 2021 Man of the Match Player of the Tournament

T20 World Cup 2021 Final: In a heavyweight final clash, Australia have been crowned as the first-time winners of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. The Aaron Finch-led Aussie team registered an outstanding 8-wicket victory against New Zealand in the finals at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday. Australia have achieved a massive milestone moment in the history of limited-overs cricket as they have won the 50-over World Cup five times and are now also the winners of T20 World Cup 2021.

Who is the Man of the Match & Player of the Tournament?

While chasing a challenging total of 173 runs, Australia lost the wicket of their skipper Aaron Finch quite early with just 15 runs on the scoreboard. However, Mitchell Marsh did not waste much of time and started to attack the New Zealand bowlers from the very first ball. The right-hander played some gorgeous shots in all parts of the ground during his spectacular unbeaten match-winning innings of 77 runs off 50 balls that included 6 fours and 4 sixes. Marsh was deservedly named the Man of the Match in the T20 World Cup 2021 final.

Related: Aaron Finch Leads Australia to first ever T20 WC Title

T20 World Cup 2021 Man of the Match Player of the Tournament

Australian opener David Warner was awarded the Player of the Tournament award as he had a sensational performance with the bat throughout this tournament especially in the knockout games. The left-handed batter smashed a terrific tally of 289 runs from 7 matches at a phenomenal strike-rate of 148.43. Warner composed three match-winning half-centuries in this tournament ending as the second highest run-getter that includes a fifty in this T20 World Cup final against New Zealand.

Related: How much Prize Money have T20 WC Winners Australia won?

T20 World Cup 2021: Australia win first-ever T20 WC Title

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, New Zealand did not have the best of starts as they lost the in-form Daryl Mitchell very early in the fourth over of the game. The Kiwis were struggling at 57 for 1 after the first 10 overs, however, skipper Kane Williamson then played a breathtaking knock of 85 runs off just 48 balls to help his team get the momentum in the middle-overs. New Zealand ended the first half of the final with a pretty fighting total of 172 for 4 in their 20 overs. For Australia, Josh Hazlewood was the pick of the bowlers having taken three vital wickets.

In reply, Australia too got off to a poor start having lost the wicket of opening batter Aaron Finch in the third over of the chase. However, the duo of David Warner and Mitchell Marsh took the game completely away from New Zealand in quick session on the back of some attacking batting. The pair added an unbelievable partnership of 92 runs off just 59 deliveries to take Australia very much ahead in the game. Warner played another excellent innings of 53 runs off 38 balls while Marsh remained 77 not out. Australia chased down the target with 7 balls to spare and to be crowned as the champions of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

For more T20 World Cup news, click here

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article