Most Wickets in T20 World Cup 2021 – Check COMPLETE List

Published on: Nov 15, 2021 12:28 am IST|Updated on: Nov 24, 2021 1:56 pm IST

T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup 2021 gave fans everything to cheer about. From high scoring thrillers to low scoring blockbusters, this edition of the marquee tournament was host to everything. After weeks of entertainment and 44 games, Aaron Finch’s Australia locked horns with New Zealand in the summit clash. The final of the World Cup saw Australia proving their mettle and clinching their first-ever T20 World Cup Trophy.

Most wickets in T20 World Cup 2021 

The T20 World Cup 2021 saw many flamboyant performances with the ball. Many young players along with some senior bowlers displayed some sensational bowling performance and rattled the opposition to help their team go past the line.

Read Also: Who is the Man of the Match & Player of the Tournament? Check Details

Sri Lanka’s new sensation Wanindu Hasaranga tops the charts of the leading wicket-taker with 16 wickets to his name. He is followed by Australia’s Adam Zampa who took 13 wickets in the tournament.

The third in the list is premier New Zealand pacer Trent Boult with 13 wickets to his name. Bangladesh’s ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and Australia’s Josh Hazlewood are next on the list with 11 wickets each.

The likes of D Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Jh Davey Shadab Khan, Adil Rashid JN Frylinck, Ish Sodhi and Mitch Starc are next on the list respectively with 9 wickets to their name.

The next on the list are Rashid Khan, Tabraiz Shamsi, M Theekshana, Mehdi Hasan, Kagiso Rabada, Harish Rauf, Tim Southee S Sharif and Mustafizur Rahman respectively with 8 wickets to their name.

Player name Team Wickets Economy
Wanindu Hasaranga Sri Lanka 16 5.20
Adam Zampa Australia 13 5.81
Trent Boult New Zealand 13 6.25
Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh 11 5.59
Josh Hazelwood Australia 11 7.29
D Pretorius South Africa 9 6.88
Anrich Nortje South Africa 9 5.37
JH Davey Scotland 9 7.02
Shadab Khan Pakistan 9 6.00
Adil Rashid England 9 6.53
JN Frylinck Namibia 9 7.46
Ish Sodhi New Zealand 9 8.08
Mitchell Starc Australia 9 9.18
Rashid Khan Afghanistan 8 6.10
Tabraiz Shamsi South Africa 8 6.36
M Theekshana Sri Lanka 8 5.48
Mahedi Hasan Bangladesh 8 6.12
KG Rabada South Africa 8 8.15

Who won the T20 World Cup 2021? 

Australian cricket team thumped New Zealand by 8 wickets to lift their maiden ICC T20 World Cup Trophy. Bowling first, Australian bowlers bowled some tight lines initially and put Kiwis under tremendous pressure. But skipper Kane Williamson shifted gears and scored 86 runs to take his team to a total of 172 runs.

Related: Aaron Finch Leads Australia to first ever T20 WC Title

T20 World Cup

Chasing the target, even though Australia lost skipper Aaron Finch early, but David Warner and Michell Marsh took the game away from the Kiwis. While Warner perished after scoring 53 runs, Marsh remained unbeaten on 77 runs to take his team to their maiden T20 World Cup title.

Related: How much 2021 T20 WC winner Australia and runner up New Zealand have won?

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article