T20 World Cup 2022 England squad announced. Check Players List

Published on: Sep 7, 2022 3:15 pm IST|Updated on: Sep 7, 2022 5:21 pm IST

T20 World Cup 2022 England squad announced. Check Players

England have named their squad for the upcoming T20 world cup in Australia. They have been hit with injuries pretty badly but they are banking in their reputed white ball depth. England qualified for the semi final in the previous year’s T20 world cup but lost to New Zealand. They would be hoping to win their 2nd T20 world cup. They have already won in 2010 under Paul Collingwood.

T20 world cup 2022: Alex Hales makes a comeback

Alex Hales, last played for England in 2019 against West Indies. There were a lot of controversies regarding his place in the side and his equation with the then captain Eoin Morgan but Alex Hales never stopped banging the door hard with his performances across various leagues around the globe.

Asia Cup winners list

With Jonny Bairstow being the latest one to join the list of injured players for England, they have finally decided to recall Alex Hales as the replacement for Jonny Bairstow. Alex Hales has good amount of experience in Australian conditions. He has represented Sydney Thunders in BBL on several seasons. England do have a lot of options when it comes to opening slot, so it will be a difficult task for Alex Hales to break into the playing 11.

Top 5 batsmen with most runs in T20I

England don’t have Jofra Archer, who would have boosted their bowling attack big time. They do have a decent bowling attack under their disposal and the group they are in must help them reach the semi final. They are the 2nd best team on paper next to Australia. Having said that, New Zealand are known to pull off surprises in ICC tournaments every time they play one, it will be a tougher group this time around if NZ can punch above their weight.

England squad for T20 world cup 2022

Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills

Click for more Cricket News 

Who will win Asia Cup 2022?

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article