T20 World Cup Winners List since India’s 2007 WT20 Win

Updated on: Nov 12, 2021 10:46 am IST

T20 world cup 2021 India 2007

T20 World Cup Winners List – T20 World Cup 2021 is around the corner. Due to covid-19 pandemic, the marquee event was postponed from last year to this year. India were supposed to host the mega event but due to pandemic, ICC shifted the tournament to UAE where IPL 2021 also took place. There will be 12 teams participating in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, with 4 teams added through from world cup qualifiers.

The traditional semi final format is followed in this tournament as well as the best team in the group stages might have to get out of the tournament if they tend to have one bad day in a semi final. Things will get more interesting if ICC changes the semi final to playoffs like format which will provide a fair incentive to the best team in the group stages.

T20 World Cup Winners – An overview

There has been 6 ICC WT20 tournaments that has happened to date and no one apart from Darren Sammy led West Indies have managed to win it more than once.T20 world cup 2021

The WT20 was started in 2007 and the last world cup happened in 2016. There has been no WT20 for the past 5 years and the upcoming WT20 is much anticipated one amongst cricket lovers.

Fastest 50 in T20 Internationals | Batting Records

Year T20 World Cup Winner
2007 India
2009 Pakistan
2010 England
2012 West Indies
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 West Indies


Who Won First T20 World Cup?

2007 T20 World Cup, the inaugural edition, was won by India under a young Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2007. India played the 2007 WT20 like a champion side right from the word go and they were ahead of their time.

India won the tournament after 2007 cricket world cup debacle where they got knocked out in the group stages under Rahul Dravid after having lost to Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Highest T20 Score in Cricket – Highest Team Score

India’s T20 World Cup Performances since first edition

India haven’t placed their hands on the coveted WT20 trophy since 2007. They lost to Sri Lanka and West Indies in the finals and semi final of the 2014 and 2016 edition respectively.


T20 World Cup Performance

2007 Champions
2009 Super eight
2010 Super eight
2012 Super eight
2014 Final
2016 Semi-final

Fastest Hundred in T20 Internationals | T20I Batting Records

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article