SL vs IND, 2nd T20I: 2 Players who can captain India in the absence of Shikhar Dhawan

Updated on: Jul 28, 2021 4:53 pm IST

  • SL vs IND

    The Indian team has been involved in a major disruption due to the covid positive case of Krunal Pandya in Colombo. He was part of the Playing XI in first 2 ODIs and played 1st T20I as well. The 8 close contacts of the all-rounder were tested negative, but all have been isolated to stop the spreading of the virus. It has also been confirmed that Shikhar Dhawan will also undergo isolation and will be unavailable for the 2nd T20I match between India and Sri Lanka.

    Related: Sri Lanka vs India: Shikhar Dhawan Available for 2nd T20I?

    Who can captain Indian team in SL vs IND 2nd T20I?

    The absence of Shikhar Dhawan along with the 7 players who are in isolation will require another experienced players to captain the side.

    1. Sanju Samson

    Snaju Samson

    The top-order batter from Kerala has been a fine performer in the limited-overs format. He was given the chance to lead the Rajasthan Royals side in the IPL 2021, that will work in his favour.

    2. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

    The medium pace bowler picked 4 wickets in SL vs IND 1st T20I and has a good experience and has displayed capability to perform well in crucial situations. Few days, he was appointed as the vice-captain of the team for the Sri Lanka tour. He was earlier the vice-captain of SRH team in IPL 2018.

    Related: Colombo Weather Update and Chance of Rain

    Probable Playing XI of Indian team for 2nd T20I

    The young top-order batsmen like Devdutt Padikkal and Ruturaj Gaikwad will finally make their India debut in SL vs IND 2nd T20I. Apart from them, Nitish Rana and Chetan Sakariya who made their ODI debut a few days back, will feature in their first ever T20I match.

    Probabale Playing XI: Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Sanju Samson (wk), Rahul Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar(c), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakariya

    For more cricket news, click here

    Previous Article
    Next Article