India National Cricket Team

Cricket runs in the veins of Indians and the Indian national cricket team is almost a stature in the country. Referred to as ‘Men in Blue’, the men’s national cricket team of India is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Indian cricket has given the great, champion cricketers to the world and has become World Cup winner thrice in its cricketing history. Not only India men’s national cricket team, the craze for Indian women cricket and the biggest franchise cricket extravaganza, the IPL 2020, is extraordinary. Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy are among other features of Indian cricket calendar.

Are Prithvi Shaw and Udaan actress Prachi Singh dating?

Prithvi Shaw Prachi Singh: Prithvi Shaw the dynamic right-handed opening batsman has come up through the ranks in the Indian…

2 weeks ago

‘MS Dhoni has retired, so have I’: Pakistan Cricket’s greatest fan pays heartfelt tribute

MS Dhoni has retired and so few of the cricket-watchers along with it. The man who has been an inspiration…

1 month ago

WATCH: 5 Unforgettable MS Dhoni Moments

We were lucky yesterday but we are not so lucky today. We had a hope before 19:29 yesterday, but we…

1 month ago

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina announce retirement from International cricket

Has anyone ever figured out a way to read MS Dhoni’s mind? Don’t think so. Just at a time when…

1 month ago

India to host 2021 T20 World Cup

International Cricket Council (ICC) board, which met via a teleconference this evening has decided not to take away the hosting…

2 months ago

‘I Spy’: Is romance brewing between Sara Tendulkar and Shubman Gill?

The love life of the famous Indian cricketers has always been a favourite topic of discussion among the wide majority…

2 months ago

WATCH: Virat Kohli recalls when MS Dhoni asked him to don wicketkeeping gloves

The Indian captain Virat Kohli is a champion batsman and an aggressive captain but not many would rate his wicket-keeping…

2 months ago

Suresh Raina names ‘The next MS Dhoni of Team India’

The standards set by the former Indian captain MS Dhoni are so high that, most of the modern-day captains are…

2 months ago

Watch: Virat Kohli reveals what is his ‘X-factor’ as a captain

The world’s best ODI batsman at the moment is none other than Virat Kohli. He has held the position of…

2 months ago

Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh troll birthday boy Yuzvendra Chahal with hilarious wishes

One of the best entertainers in the Indian dressing room at the moment in Yuzvendra Chahal turns 30 today and…

2 months ago

Irfan Pathan and Yuvraj Singh have hilarious conversation on India’s match-winning all-rounder

Ben Stokes's all-round heroics in ongoing England vs West Indies series has stunned not just normal cricket fans, but some…

2 months ago

Steve Smith or Virat Kohli? Marnus Labuschagne picks better test batsman

The world is blessed to witness 2 of the greatest players in Virat Kohli and Steve Smith playing together in…

2 months ago

More than Virat Kohli, enjoy watching Rohit Sharma bat: Mohammad Shami

India have two of the white ball giants playing together at the moment and there is no surprise that they…

2 months ago

‘Thakaa deta hai’: Mohammad Shami picks most difficult Indian batsman to bowl to

One of the most improved bowlers in the recent past for India is Mohammad Shami. The Bengal pacer groomed himself…

2 months ago

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly in home quarantine after elder brother tests Covid-19 positive

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly on Thursday has imposed himself into home quarantine…

2 months ago

History of India National Cricket Team

Indian cricket team has a rich history and legacy. It was the 18th century when cricket was introduced by European sailors to India. The first cricket club was established in 1792 in the country.

India National Cricket Team became the ICC full member in 1926 but had to wait until 1932 to play their first Test match on 25th June at the 'Mecca' of Cricket Lord's Cricket Stadium. Colonel CK Naidu was the first-ever captain of India men's national cricket team and he led the team in 4 Test matches which were played against England. India became only the 6th nation to play Test match cricket after England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, and New Zealand.

India's breakthrough was definitely the 1983 World Cup triumph where Kapil Dev-led Team India achieved the unimaginable. Ever since the inception of the World Cup in 1975, India became the first ever nation apart from West Indies to win the elusive Cup.

Talking about the current India cricket squad, Virat Kohli is the captain across formats, whereas Ravi Shastri is the head coach. In his tenure as captain, the Indian cricket team has achieved rare heights including the numero-uno position in Test cricket for more than 2 years.

India men's national cricket team in World Cups

Having won two ODI World Cups along with two Champions Trophy and a T20 World Cup, India has won all ICC mega events, at least once. India were crowned the champions of the world in 1983 and 2011, under the leadership of Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni respectively.

The inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup which took place in the year 2007 in South Africa was won by India. Men in Blue entered the tournament as the underdogs under an amateur leadership of MS Dhoni who was leading the side for the very first time. Winning the title was more than a statement and it also underlined the new dawn of team India.

ICC Champions Trophy, also known as the mini World Cup, India were the joint trophy holders along with Sri Lanka in 2002 in a match where rain played a spoilsport. In the year 2013, under the premier leadership of MS Dhoni, one of the most decorated captains of Indian cricket, Indian national cricket team lifted the ICC Champions Trophy for the second time.

Indian Cricket team Oversea

India National Cricket Team won the World Championship of Cricket in 1985 held in Australia under the sublime leadership of World Cup winner Kapil Dev. India garnered one of the most prominent successes on Australian soil. In the year 2016, they clean-swept Australia in a 3-match T20I series on their home turf and in the process, became the first-ever nation to achieve this rare feat after 82 long years.

India men's national cricket team are also the only Asian side to win a Test series in Australia. It was the 2018-19 tour of Australia where the Virat Kohli-led side defeated the hosts 2-1 in the four-match Test series. They also hold the record for most Asia Cup titles having won the event as many as 7 times.

India National Cricket Team News

Team India cricketers are nothing short of celebrities. They are the biggest stars and people love to follow them on social media and other various means. We at Indiafantasy try to bring as much news, gossips and social lives of your favorite star India cricket players and also the latest Team India news. Apart from this, we additionally provide match insights and post-match reactions of players so that you get even closer to reality.

If you are a die-hard fan of the Indian cricket team and India cricketers, Indiafantasy is definitely the one-stop place to get in touch with all the latest Team India Cricket News, India cricket squad announcements, India cricket players updates and more.