Categories: IPL News
| On Aug 30, 2021 3:31 PM IST

IPL 2021: Rishabh Pant will continue as captain of Delhi Capitals in second phase in UAE


Delhi Capitals suffered a huge blow coming into the IPL 2021 as their captain Shreyas Iyer was ruled out of the entire season after dislocating his shoulder during the India-England T20I series.

The captaincy was handed over to the young superstar Rishabh Pant before the start of the tournament. It was expected that the absence of Shreyas Iyer would disturb the balance of the side big time but DC under Rishabh Pant managed to cope up pretty well till the tournament got suspended due to covid breakout.

Three Indians in Shakib Al Hasan’s All-time ODI XI, MS Dhoni named captain

Rishabh Pant to continue as the skipper of DC

Delhi Capitals are at the top of the points table after first 8 games in this season. They have won 6 games and lost 2 which they should have won by all means. They lost their only 2 games against Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore after having the game in the pocket for more than 30 overs of the game.

Now with Shreyas Iyer available for the 2nd leg in UAE, it was expected that the DC management would hand over the captaincy back to their original captain in Shreyas Iyer but a close source to DC said that they have no intentions to disrupt the current setup as the southpaw wicket keeper batsman is set to continue as the skipper of the team even in the presence of Shreyas Iyer.

‘Rename the series the collapse trophy’: Cricket Twitter reacts to India’s collapse on Day 4 of 3rd Test

Steve Smith was asked to do the role of Shreyas Iyer as the anchor of the team which didn’t go well even though that didn’t affect them in the first leg. Now with Shreyas Iyer back, DC might go back to their tried and tested combination of Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje being the first choice overseas players in the playing 11.

Probable playing 11 for Delhi Capitals

Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant ©/(WK), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

Hilarious! Rishabh Pant shadow batting at non-striker end while bowler about to deliver