IPL News
| On Sep 19, 2021 7:35 PM IST

IPL Squad Updates: INs & OUTs for phase 2 in UAE Category


Its the IPL 2021 Phase 2 starting soon in 3 days time and cricket fans are excited to watch the T20 action after quite some time. The covid concerns in the country postponed the tournament, with the IPL Governing council finally deciding that the Phase 2 should be played in UAE, which was a smart decision given the active covid cases in the county. But few players have decided to not join the UAE leg due to the T20 World Cup and the quarantine requirement. This article enlists the players who will be playing in the Phase 2, and others who have opted out or have injury concerns.

INs & OUTs in Squads for IPL 2021 Phase 2

While mostly the foreign players have made themselves unavailable for the UAE leg. The franchises have had to bring in their replacements to fill the slots.

Royal Challengers were the most affected, as they faced a major setback, but they have got in replacements- Wanindu Hasaranga came in for Adam Zampa. Dushmantha Chameera will replace Daniel Sams. George Garton will replace Kane Richardson, and Tim David will replace Finn Allen. While Washington Sundar is unfit, and is being replaced by Bengal pacer Akash Deep.

Strongest RCB Playing 11 IPL 2021 in 2nd Phase

Rajasthan Royals have got a hard hitter Glenn Phillips as a replacement for Jos Buttler. While, Tabraiz Shamsi will replace Andrew Tye. The West Indies opener Evin Lewis and Oshane Thomas will fill the place of Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer.

Punjab Kings have signed Nathan Ellis for Riley Meredith and spinner Adil Rashid for Jhye Richardson. While, Aiden Markram has been called in as the replacement of no. 1 T20I batsman Dawid Malan

Sam Curran to Miss Phase 2 Opener against Mumbai Indians?

Kolkata Knight Riders have replaced Pat Cummins with Tim Southee.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have signed Sherfane Rutherford as a replacement of wicketkeeper batsman Jonny Bairstow who opted out a week back.

Delhi Capitals have called bowling all-rounder Ben Dwarshuis to replace Chris Woakes in the squad.

No replacements have been called for Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

Who will be making their IPL debut in Phase 2?

Many players from the recent signing have not been featured in IPL or had the chance to be selected in the auction or outside trade windows.

1. Wanindu Hasaranga
2. Dushmantha Chameera
3. Tim David
4. Aiden Markram
5. Glenn Phillips
6. Ben Dwarshuis
7. Adil Rashid
8. George Garton
9. Akash Deep

For more IPL news, click here


Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.