Categories: IPL Stats
| On Oct 9, 2021 4:12 PM IST

All about Rajasthan Royals IPL 2021


Rajasthan Royals have been an average side in the Indian Premier League. Their only noteworthy performance came in the IPL 2008, when they lifted the title trophy. At that time, Shane Warne was the leader of the franchise, who was coming after earning a legendary status for the Australia team in the international cricket. Along with him, the team had T20 stars like Yusuf Pathan, Sohail Tanvir, Shane Watson, and the young Ravindra Jadeja.

For some years, Rahul Dravid was impressive as captain for the franchise as well.  Since, then the franchise has opted a strategy to give chances to the young Indians as well as talented overseas players trying to build their career in the game. The team has not included many high profile cricketers during their journey until this season.

About Rajasthan Royals IPL 2021 Team

The Rajasthan Royals IPL 2021 team was a mixed bag of talented and young cricketers. The Rajasthan Royals as a franchise believed in promoting young Indian talents, and have bought players on the same ideology for the past few years as well. In this year, the team included Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh, Kuldip Yadav, and Chetan Sakariya (who also made his debut for India in T20Is against Sri Lanka). While in the IPL 2021 Phase 2, the team called in T20 specialists like Evin Lewis and Glenn Phillips, who have been a consistent run scorer in the shortest format of the game. The England batter Liam Livingstone returned to play for the team in the Phase 2. The other notable additions was the West Indies fast bowler Oshane Thomas.

Rajasthan Royals team 2021 players list

The team had an average outing in the Indian Premier League 2021 with only 5 wins in 14 matches, and were positioned 7th in the points table. The top order was terrific for them in most of the fixtures, but the middle order could not contribute enough to lift the team’s spirits. While the bowlers tried hard with their variations in length and pace changes, but could not induce wickets and contain runs to a greater extent. It must have been a fine learning experience for the youngsters of Rajasthan Royals team.

IPL 2021 Rajasthan royals Team players name list: 

Sanju Samson (c & wk), Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Oshane Thomas, Evin Lewis, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, K.C. Cariappa, Liam Livingstone, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh, Glenn Phillips

Rajasthan Royals released players 2021

A total of 8 players were released ahead of the Indian Premier League 2021 auction.

Released Players: Steve Smith, Tom Curran, Varun Aaron, Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Akash Singh, Anirudha Joshi, Shashank Singh.

  • Steve Smith was released due to his disappointing performance for the franchise in the 2020 season, and played for Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2021 along with fast bowler Tom Curran.
  • Out of 8 players, Akash Singh was bought back by the franchise in the auction, and Oshane Thomas was called in as the replacement of Andrew Tye for the IPL 2021 Phase 2.

While other players did not attract bids in the 2021 auction.

Rajasthan Royals retained players 2021

Retained Players: Sanju Samson (c), Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Robin Uthappa

  • A total of 17 players were retained by the team for the 2021 season. The key players which were retained are Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, David Miller, and Robin Uthappa.

Who is the best all rounder in IPL?

  • Out of these top players, the only player which were available through the season were Sanju Samson and David Miller.
  • Ben Stokes took a break from cricket to focus on his mental well being.
  • Jofra Archer was out of cricketing action for the year 2021 due to the injury concerns.
  • Jos Buttler opted to pull out of the Phase 2 of the tournament due to the birth of his child.

Rajasthan Royals 2021 captain

Sanju Samson is the captain of The Rajasthan Royals IPL 2021 team. Sanju Samson has been a terrific player in the white ball cricket and has been playing competitive cricket since 2011. He made his IPL debut in 2013, and has been a part of three franchises, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Kolkata Knight Riders. Due to his fine performances in the Indian Premier League, he earned a national call in 2015, but has not been able to capitalize on his good starts in the international circuit.

In the IPL 2021, Sanju Samson was the leading run scorer for the team with 484 runs and played sensible cricket to steer the team well in the middle overs and accelerate in the death overs.

Who is the Rajasthan Royals captain in 2021?

The Rajasthan Royals IPL 2021 team captain was wicket keeper batsman, Sanju Samson. He led from the from the front with the bat, and was the leading run scorer for the team with 484 runs in 14 matches at an average of 40.33. This was the most consistent season for the player from Kerala, where he displayed maturity and class to lift the team’s spirits in crucial situations. He also hit a century against Punjab Kings in the IPL 2021, which was his 3rd one in the tournament history.

How many times Rajasthan Royals won IPL?

The Rajasthan Royals won the inaugral edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008, under the captaincy of Australian leg spinner Shane Warne. The team chased down the total of 164 runs in the last ball of the match against Chennai Super Kings. The team got contribution from Yusuf Pathan, Swapnil Asnodkar, and Shane Watson. The all rounder Yusuf Pathan was adjudged as man of the match for his all round contributions with 3 wickets and quickfire innings of 56 runs. This was the only title victory for the franchise.

Which players did Rajasthan Royals buy in 2021?

The Rajasthan Royals team bought 8 players in the IPL 2021 Auction. In those 8 players, 3 were overseas and 5 Indians. The team primarily focussed on picking up the bowlers, as they were equipped with talented batters, ahead of the auction. After the completion of auction, the team had a total of 24 players.

Chris Morris IPL 2021 Performance

These were the players bought by IPL 2021 Rajasthan Royals team.

Chris Morris (All-Rounder) – Rs. 16.25 crore
Shivam Dube (All-Rounder) – Rs. 4.4 crore
Chetan Sakariya (Bowler) – Rs. 1.2 crore
Mustafizur Rahman (Bowler) – Rs. 1 crore
Liam Livingstone (All-Rounder)– Rs. 75 lakh
K.C Cariappa (Bowler) – Rs. 20 lakh
Akash Singh (Bowler) – Rs. 20 lakh
Kuldip Yadav (Bowler) – Rs. 20 lakh

Chris Morris became the most expensive player ever in the IPL history with 16.25 crores. While Shivam Dube was also bought at hefty amount of 4.4 Crores. Both these players were released by the RCB franchise. Then the quality picks for the team were, Liam Livingstone and Mustafizur Rahman, who have been fine performers in the T20 cricket. The 4 uncapped players, Sakariya, KC Cariappa, Akash Singh, and Kuldip Yadav were the other players.

For more IPL news and stats, click here