Who is the best captain in the IPL? Check out the most successful captain in the IPL history

Updated on: Feb 15, 2023 9:50 am IST

Who is the best captain in the IPL

Who is the best captain in the IPL: Being the captain of a team in IPL is a crucial responsibility, as the outcome of a game can quickly change. Leading a side in such a high-stakes tournament is not easy, and underperforming captains are often replaced. Only a select few cricketers have been able to maintain their captaincy role for an extended period due to their consistent performance. In this article, we’ll take a look at who is the best captain in the IPL, limited to those who have led a team in at least 10 matches.

Who is the best captain in the IPL? Check out the most successful captain in the IPL history

1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma stands out as the most successful captain in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) while talking about who is the best captain in the IPL. Under his leadership, the Mumbai franchise has won 5 IPL titles in just 8 years, making him the captain with the highest win percentage in the tournament’s history. With 129 matches as captain, Rohit has led his team to victory in 77 of those games, solidifying his position as one of the greatest IPL captains of all time. His captaincy was instrumental in Mumbai’s triumphs in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020, and he continues to be a key figure in the team’s success. Rohit’s leadership skills and tactical acumen have made him the envy of many captains in the IPL, and he is widely regarded as one of the best in the league.

2. MS Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, famously known as MS Dhoni, is a name synonymous with excellence in Indian cricket. His captaincy skills in IPL are unparalleled, making him one of the most successful captains in the tournament’s history. With over 200 matches under his belt as a captain, Dhoni has won 121 of them, resulting in a winning percentage of 59.60. He has been the leader of Chennai Super Kings since the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008 and has won four IPL trophies with the team in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

Dhoni’s leadership has been a major factor in CSK’s consistent performance in the tournament over the years. Despite missing out on the playoffs in just two seasons, Dhoni has led his team to the playoffs in all other seasons he has played. He holds the record for playing the most matches as a captain in IPL history, cementing his place as one of the greatest captains in the tournament’s history.

3. Steve Smith

Steve Smith is widely known for his exceptional leadership skills in both T20 leagues and international cricket. In the Indian Premier League (IPL), he has demonstrated his capabilities as a captain with the Pune team and the Rajasthan Royals. In 2017, he replaced MS Dhoni as the skipper of the Pune team and led them to several victories. Over the years, he has been the captain of the Rajasthan Royals in multiple seasons. Smith’s overall captaincy record in IPL is quite impressive as he won 25 out of the 43 matches he led. This impressive record establishes him as the second most successful IPL captain in the tournament’s history.

4. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar, the iconic Indian batsman, might not have had much success as the national team’s captain, but he certainly left his mark as the skipper of the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. During his tenure as the captain of MI, he led the team to the final of the 2010 edition of the tournament, where they were unfortunately defeated by the Chennai Super Kings. Despite this loss, Sachin’s captaincy record with MI remains impressive, as he led the team in 51 matches and emerged victorious in 30 of them. This results in a win percentage of 58.82, which is a testament to Sachin’s leadership abilities. After his successful stint as MI’s captain, Sachin passed the baton on to Rohit Sharma, who has since established himself as one of the most successful IPL captains of all time.

5. Cameron White 

Cameron White, the former Australian cricketer, has been a part of various teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He has represented Royal Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the tournament. White was appointed as the captain of Deccan Chargers mid-season in IPL 2012, replacing Kumar Sangakkara. The following season, he was named as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. In his 12 matches as captain, the team emerged victorious in 7 games, giving him a success rate of 58.33% in the tournament. White’s captaincy skills have been a valuable asset to his teams in the IPL, and his ability to lead the team to victories showcases his experience and leadership skills.

Highest win percentage as a captain in IPL

Player Matches Won Lost Win Percent
Rohit Sharma 129 77 52 59.68
MS Dhoni 204 121 82 59.60
Steve Smith 43 25 17 59.52
Sachin Tendulkar 51 30 21 58.82
Cameron White 12 7 5 58.33
For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article