When is the next ODI World Cup and who will host it

Updated on: Sep 6, 2021 8:32 pm IST

  • ODI World cup 2023 India hosts

    England hosted one of the best ever ODI world cups in the history of cricket in 2019 and they managed to win the trophy as well. The final of 2019 world cup was an absolute cliffhanger and cricket fans had their heart in their mouth throughout the game. In the end, no team managed to outscore the other team in terms of number of runs but England won on boundary count.ODI world cup 2023

    India to host 2023 ODI world cup

    The next edition of world cup is set to be hosted by the 2 time champions in India in 2023. The final is tentatively scheduled to take place in the largest cricket stadium in the world in Ahmedabad which has a capacity of over 1 lakh.

    Jasprit Bumrah YORKER Sends Back Jonny Bairstow Packing in Oval Test

    The 2023 edition will continue to be a ten team tournament similar to 2019 and round robin format Is set to be followed for that as well. The success of 2019 world cup has made ICC to not disturb the format.

    India being the hosts, have qualified for the world cup by all means. ICC have introduced the ODI super league for the upcoming edition where the teams will be qualified based on the super league cycle.

    Shardul Thakur Takes the BIG Joe Root WICKET in the second innings

    Each team will play 8 of the other 12 teams in the competition and the 13 teams being India, Australia, New Zealand, England, South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe and Ireland.

    The top 7 teams in the competition will qualify for the world cup as direct entrants along with India. The remaining 2 teams will be selected after a qualifying tournament where the bottom 5 teams in the ODI super league along with the associate nations will compete against each other.

    Will the trend continue?

    Since 2011, it has been the hosting nations that has lifted the world cup. Until 2011, no hosting nation won the world cup but India changed the history in 2011 and since then, it has been the hosting countries winning the cup. One has the wait and watch whether India can continue that trend in 2023

    Jasprit Bumrah at his very best! Watch Ollie Pope’s Bowled dismissal

    Previous Article