Categories: T20 WorldCup News
| On Sep 10, 2021 11:14 AM IST

New Afghanistan Captain Named for T20 World Cup. Check Details


Afghanistan cricket is in shambles at the moment. Rashid Khan who was the designated captain of Afghanistan for the upcoming WT20 in UAE stepped down from the captaincy moments after ACB named their squad for the marquee event. Australia have already called off their one off test versus Afghanistan due to increasing political tensions in the country and now this news has taken the cricketing world by surprise.

Mohammad Nabi  is expected to lead the side

Any captain would want to be involved in a selection process even for a bilateral series let alone for the world cup. The best leg spinner in the world at the moment claimed that the selection committee hasn’t obtained his consent during the team selection. Here’s what Rashid Khan had to say about it.

When is the next ODI World Cup and who will host it

The selection committee and ACB (Afghanistan Cricket Board) has not obtained my consent for the team which has been announced by ACB media

He further added that he is stepping down as the captain of the side with immediate effect

As the captain and responsible person for the nation I reserve the right to be part of the selection of the team. I am taking the decision of stepping down from the role as the captain of Afghanistan T20 side effective immediately

Afghanistan is yet to name an official replacement for Rashid Khan as the captain of the side but sources close to the team has revealed that the veteran all rounder in Mohammad Nabi is set to take charge of the team for the WT20.

New IPL teams base price set at ₹2000 crore INR

Afghanistan have selected a spin heavy side and there are no surprises in that as spin is their strong forte. They have some world class spinners like Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Qais Ahmed and Mohammad Nabi under their ranks.

Afghanistan WT20 squad

Rashid Khan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen ul Haq, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran and Qais Ahmed.

Reserves: Afsar Zazai and Farid Ahmed Malik.

India’s squad list for T20 World Cup 2021: Analysis, Strengths, Weaknesses & Prediction