Categories: T20 WorldCup News
| On Sep 10, 2021 12:21 AM IST

T20 World Cup News: West Indies Squad Announced. Check COMPLETE List


The much anticipated ICC T20 World Cup is just one month away from now. The ICC event will take place in UAE and Oman from 17th October to 14th November. With the deadline being the 10th of September for the announcement of squads, teams have announced their 15-member squad for the marquee tournament.

West Indies cricket team’s squad for the ICC T20 World Cup

The much-awaited squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 has finally be announced. The defending champions West Indies have named their 15-member squad for the mega event. The squad will be led by none other than Kieron Pollard with Nicholas Pooran being his deputy.

The squad has seen some surprise picks, while Ravi Rampaul has returned to the squad, having played his last match in 2015, uncapped Roston Chase has also made it to the 15-member West Indian squad for the marquee tournament.

Read Also: Rashid Khan SHOCKING TWEET After T20 World Cup Squad Announcement

The likes of Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis and Lendl Simmons are the three batsmen along with Nicholas Pooran and Andre Fletcher being the two wicketkeepers in the side.

The all-rounder’s department included skipper Kieron Pollard, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase and Andre Russell. The bowling department includes Oshane Thomas, Ravi Rampaul, Obed McCoy along with Hayden Walsh JR being the lone spinner on the side.

With the main squad, the West Indies cricket board has named four reserves; Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder and Akeal Hossain.

Here’s the West Indies squad for the T20 World Cup: 

Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Chris Gayle, Fabien Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh.

Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder,  Akeal Hossain.

Read Also: South Africa T20 World Cup Announced. Check official update

T20 World Cup News: West Indies schedule for the ICC event

West Indies cricket team are placed in the Group 1 of the tournament along with Australia, England, and South Africa. The Kieron Pollard-led side will begin their campaign on 23rd October against England. They will then lock horns against South Africa on 26th October. The defending champions will then face Qualifier (B2) on 29th October, followed by the match against Qualifier (A1) and Australia on 4th and 6th November respectively.

October 23: West Indies vs England, Dubai  07:30 PM

October 26: West Indies vs South Africa, Dubai

October 29: West Indies vs Qualifier (B2), Sharjah

November 4: West Indies vs Qualifier (A1), Abu Dhabi

November 6, 2021: West Indies vs Australia, Abu Dhabi

Related: England Squad Announced. Check Details