Categories: T20 WorldCup News
| On Sep 8, 2021 9:25 PM IST

T20 World Cup Squad Announcement: MS Dhoni to join Team India as a mentor


The stage is all set for the ICC T20 World Cup, which will kick start next month in UAE and Oman. The tournament will kick start on 17th October with a summit clash to be played on November 14th. With the itinerary for the mega event being revealed, the governing body has also announced the deadline for the squad announcement. New Zealand, Australia and Pakistan were the first three teams to announce their squad and have now been joined by Team India, who is the latest entrant in the list.

MS Dhoni to join Team India as a mentor for the ICC T20 World Cup

The much-awaited Indian squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup has been revealed. The squad has seen many surprises in it. While everyone was amazed at R Ashwin being included in the white-ball squad another thing that gave goosebumps to every Indian cricket fan is that MS Dhoni is back in Indian colours.

Read Also: India T20 World Cup Squad Announcement: Possible Playing XI for the opening fixture

The former Indian skipper, who played his last match for India during the ICC World Cup 2019 and then later surprised everyone with his retirement, is all set to join the Virat Kohli-led side as a mentor for the mega event.

BCCI secretary, Jay Shah while addressing the press conference announced the Indian squad for the ICC event and also confirmed about MS Dhoni joining the squad as a mentor.

Read Also: India’s squad list for T20 World Cup 2021: Analysis, Strengths, Weaknesses & Prediction

T20 World Cup: India’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli will lead the Indian side in the T20 World Cup with Rohit Sharma being the vice-captain. Kl Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav will strengthen the batting line-up along with the skipper and his deputy while Rishabh Pant and Ishan Kishan are the two wicketkeepers in the squad.

While Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Akshar Patel are the three all-rounders, the spinning department has seen some surprise selections as R Ashwin, Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy have been named in the 15 member squad. The pace battery includes Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Shami.

Apart from the main squad the three reserves in the squad are Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar. However, senior Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan, Yuzvendra Chahal, who impressed everyone in the Sri Lanka tour, have been left out of the squad.

Here’s the Indian squad: 

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

Related: Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup Announced. Check Details