Categories: Olympics 2021
| On Sep 5, 2021 5:46 PM IST

All Gold Medal Winners for India at Tokyo Paralympics – Complete List


It has been an eventful year for the Indian athletes in the World’s biggest sporting competition. In the Olympics and Paralympics, the Indian contingent have registered the best performances ever in the history of the tournament. India won a total of 19 medals in the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics Games, which includes 5 Gold, 8 Silver, and 6 Bronze Medals, and finished with the highest ever medal tally. In this way, India finished at 24th position and will be proud of their efforts. It was also the first time that the 4 Indian athletes reached 2 podiums in single day.

Know more about Aditi Ashok, here

Since 1968, when the Paralympics games were started, the Indian contingent had a won only 4 Gold medals. But, they breached this number in a single edition. In the Rio 2016 Paralympics, the Indian contingent had won only 4 medals. All the athletes have thanked the Indian government and sports authority SAI for providing fine support for training related arrangements and facilities amid the pandemic.

Gold Medallists for India at Tokyo Olympics

1. Avani Lekhara

The shooter Avani Lekhara became the first Indian woman athlete to win two medals in the single edition of Paralympics games. She won Gold in 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1 and scalped Bronze in 50m Rifle 3 Position SH1. She will also be the flag-bearer for Indian contingent in the closing ceremony of Tokyo Paralympics.

2. Manish Narwal

The 19-year old shooter won the gold medal in the Mixed 50m pistol SH1 category. It is the same category where Singhraj Adhana took a silver medal. Between 2016 and 2019, Narwal bagged 19 medals in different tournaments and was one of the probables for achieving greatness in Paralympics.

Here are Indian goalkeeper PR Sreejesh’s achievements

3. Pramod Bhagat

The Badminton sport was introduced for the first time in the Tokyo Paralympics 2020. The ace shuttler Pramod Bhagat won the first-ever Gold Medal for India in the history of Paralympics. Bhagat is currently ranked no.1 in the Men’s Badminton SL3 category.

4. Sumit Antil

In the Men’s Javelin Throw F64 category, Sumit Antil won the gold medal and scripted history be creating and breaking his own record in the Final round of the event. The throw of 66.58 meter is now the new world record which won the Gold Medal for athlete from Haryana.

5. Krishna Nagar

The Badminton player Krishna Nagar won the Gold Medal on the last day of India’s campaign in the Tokyo Paralympics 2020. Krishna won the medal in the Men’s Single SH6 category.

Another shooter, Singhraj Adhana won the Silver medal in Mixed 50m pistol SH1 and also managed to take bronze medal in the Men’s P1 10 metre air pistol SH1. He became the third Indian athelete to win twin medals in the single edition of Paralympics games. Before him, Joginger Singh Bedi won three medals in the 1984 Paralympics Games and Avani Lekhara in this edition.

For more Olympics news, click here