Categories: Olympics 2021
| On Aug 30, 2021 8:16 PM IST

Sumit Antil, Avani Lekhara and other medal winners for India at Paralympics- Complete list


It has been a very good year for the Indian athelets in the World’s biggest sporting competition, Olympics. In the recently completed Tokyo Olympics 2020, India won the highest ever medal in the history of games, which is 7. The Indian contingent have already produced best-ever performance in the Paralympics history and totalled its medal tally to 7 and stand at 26th position in Tokyo 2020. Here are the medal winners for the Indian team until Day 7 of the Tokyo Paralympics 2020.

1. Sumit Antil

The Javelin thrower Sumit Antil scripted history by winning Gold in the Men’s Javelin F64 category. The history was created in such a way that Sumit beat his own world record and won the Gold medal by throwing Javelin for 68.55m. The below tweet describes the event in a perfect way.

2. Avani Lekhara

The 19-year old shooter became the first woman from India to win a gold medal at the Olympics and Paralympics games. She surely had the potential to win a medal, as she is currently World No.5 in Women’s 10m Air Rifle SH1. She scored a total of 249, which equalled the World Record and broke the Paralympics games record.

3. Devendra Jhajharia

The experience of Devendra Jhajharia once again brought laurels to the country. The Javelin thrower, Jhajharia has now won three medals for the country in the Paralympics. In 2004 and 2016 Paralympics, he won a gold medal and is the only athlete from India to achieve this feat. In the Tokyo Paralympics 2020, he won the silver medal by throwing a javelin for 64.35m and broke his own world record.

Read more about Neeraj Chopra

4. Yogesh Kathuniya

Apart from success in Javelin throw, Indian Contingent found success in the Discus throw as well. India’s athlete, Yogesh Kathuniya won a silver medal in the Men’s Discus Throw F56 category by throwing a discus for 44.38m.

5. Bhavina Patel

The athlete Bhavina Patel opened the account for the Indian contingent in the Tokyo Paralympics 2020. The World no. 12, Patel lost to World no. 1 Zhou Ying in the finals and won the silver medal in the Women’s individual Class 4 Table Tennis.

6. Nishad Kumar

The high jumper Nishad Kumar won the silver medal for the country in the men’s T-47 high jump event. He cleared 2.06m to equal his own Asian record.

7. Sundar Singh Gurjar

The athlete from Rajasthan, Sundar Singh Gurjar has been successful in winning the bronze medal in the Men’s Javelin throw F46 category. This was the same category where Devendra Jhajaria won the silver medal.

The another athlete Vinod Kumar was denied the bronze medal after he was found ineligible due to disability classification assessment. The dicus thrower had won the bronze medal after throwing the discus for 19.91m.

For more Olympics news, click here