Categories: Cricket News
| On Jun 17, 2021 2:58 PM IST

CPL Schedule, Start Date, Squads Details


CPL Schedule: The ninth edition of the Caribbean Premier League 2021 is all set to kickstart from August 28 and the final of the tournament will be played on 19th September. A total of 33 matches will be played in the entire T20 tournament will all the games set to be hosted at the Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis. Currently, the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) are the defending champions and they are also the much successful team in the history of CPL having won the title a total of four times.

CPL Schedule Announced for 2021 Edition

After successful scheduling the entire tournament in Trinidad and Tobago during 2020 amidst the strict Covid-19 protocols, CPL’s organising committee is very much confident of hosting the upcoming edition safely in St Kitts and Nevis from August 28. Over the years, CPL has managed to attract some of the biggest stars from different countries including the likes of AB de Villiers, David Warner, Steve Smith, Kevin Pietersen and many more such names have featured in one of the most exciting T20 tournaments. Therefore, CPL 2020 attracted a record global viewership of 523 million which is an increase of 67% in comparison to the numbers recorded in 2019.

Related: Lowest Score in IPL – COMPLETE  LIST

“It is really exciting to have the tournament window for 2021 confirmed and I would like to thank the St Kitts & Nevis government for agreeing to host this year’s event. We would also like to extend our thanks to Cricket West Indies for helping us create this window in a busy summer of cricket for them. We are looking forward to once again successfully staging the Hero CPL in 2021,” said Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s COO.

Related: West Indies vs South Africa Squads, Date and Details

CPL 2021 edition

There have been a number of developments in the recent few days with regards to the CPL 2021 edition. For Windies skipper Daren Sammy who was the captain of St. Lucia Zouks has decided that he will no longer be featuring as a player in upcoming edition of the CPL. The veteran Caribbean all-rounder has been roped in by the Zouks as their Cricket Consultant and Brand Ambassador. The St Lucia Zouks have also announced their retentions in the form of Andre Fletcher, Roston Chase, Kesrick Williams, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, and Javelle Glen. However, the omission of Mohammad Nabi comes as a big surprise because the Afghanistan all-rounder had performed impressively well in the previous edition of the CPL.

For more CPL news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.