Cricket News
| On Jul 28, 2022 7:11 PM IST

ENG vs IND: Rohit Sharma Out of India Playing 11 for 5th Test? Who will be India Captain?


Rohit Sharma out of ENG vs IND Test: In a big breaking news, Indian captain Rohit Sharma is reportedly ruled out of the fifth and final rescheduled Test match against England beginning from 1 July, 2022 (Friday) at the Edgbaston in Birmingham. Just few days back, Rohit tested positive for COVID-19 during the warm-up Test match against Leicestershire and was placed into strict isolation. India have a 2-1 lead in the five-match Test series against England.

ENG vs IND: Rohit Sharma Out of India Playing 11 for 5th Test? Who will be India Captain?

According to multiple relevant sources, it has been confirmed that Rohit Sharma will not be available for selection in the India playing 11 for the upcoming fifth and final Test match against England scheduled to start from Friday. It is also understood that right-arm speedster Jasprit Bumrah will captain the Indian Test side against England in the absence of Rohit. This is the first time in 35 years that a fast bowler will lead the Indian Test team after former legendary cricketer Kapil Dev.

” Team India Captain Mr Rohit Sharma has tested positive for COVID-19 following a Rapid Antigen Test (RAT) conducted on Saturday. He is currently in isolation at the team hotel and is under the care of the BCCI Medical Team,” said an official statement from the BCCI.

After the news of Rohit Sharma testing positive for Covid-19 and KL Rahul already out of the series, the Indian team management called up Mayank Agarwal as the backup opener. Agarwal is now very much likely to be included in the India playing 11 and open the batting alongside Shubman Gill. However, there are also reports stating that Cheteshwar Pujara can be the makeshift opener with both Hanuma Vihari and Shreyas Iyer finding a place in the playing XI.

Related: IPL Team Owners

India Playing 11 (likely)
1. Mayank Agarwal
2. Shubman Gill
3. Cheteshwar Pujara
4. Virat Kohli
5. Hanuma Vihari/Shreyas Iyer
6. Rishabh Pant (wk)
7. Ravindra Jadeja
8. Shardul Thakur
9. Mohammed Shami
10. Jasprit Bumrah (C)
11. Mohammed Siraj

India Test squad

Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mayank Agarwal. 

Related: Indian Cricket Team Jersey Numbers

England vs India 2022 Schedule

Date Format Fixture Time Venue
1-5 July, 2022 5th Test England vs India 3:30 PM IST Edgbaston, Birmingham
7 July, 2022 1st T20I England vs India 11 PM IST The Rose Bowl, Southampton
9 July, 2022 2nd T20I England vs India 7 PM IST Edgbaston, Birmingham
10 July, 2022 3rd T20I England vs India 11 PM IST Trent Bridge, Nottingham
12 July, 2022 1st ODI England vs India 3:30 PM IST Kennington Oval, London
14 July, 2022 2nd ODI England vs India 5:30 PM IST Lord’s, London
17 July, 2022 3rd ODI England vs India 5:30 PM IST Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester


Related: Indian Women Cricket Team 

For more ENG vs IND 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.