ENG vs NZ Live: Why is Jason Roy Not Playing Today?

Published on: Nov 10, 2021 7:01 pm IST|Updated on: Nov 10, 2021 7:33 pm IST

Jason Roy Not Playing Today ENG vs NZ Live

Jason Roy not playing ENG vs NZ: In the recent update, England’s star opener Jason Roy is unavailable for the crucial semi-final encounter against New Zealand in the ongoing ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. The right-handed swashbuckling batter sustained a calf injury during the last group-stage game against South Africa and was subsequently, ruled out for the remainder of the tournament. The England team added Jame Vince into the main squad as a replacement player for the rest of the competition. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has won the toss and opted to field first.

Why is Jason Roy Not Playing Today?

Incidentally, Jason Roy suffered a calf tear while batting during the second innings of the last league-stage match against South Africa in Sharjah. He was seen leaving the field in very much pain and looked very much dejected both mentally and physically. England captain Eoin Morgan revealed at the toss that Jonny Bairstow will move up the order and open the batting with Jos Buttler in this important semi-final clash against New Zealand. Sam Billings has been included in the England playing 11.

“I’m gutted to be ruled out of the World Cup. It is a bitter pill to swallow. I will be staying on to support the boys and hopefully, we can go all the way and lift that trophy. It has been an unbelievable journey so far and we have to continue expressing ourselves and concentrating on us,” said Jason Roy.

“The rehab has already started and even though I’ve torn my calf, I’m going to give myself the best chance of being ready for the T20 tour of the Caribbean at the start of next year,” he added.

ENG vs NZ Live

Related: Kagiso Rabada Hat-trick in T20 World Cup 2021 – WATCH

ENG vs NZ Live

England Playing 11: Jos Buttler(w), Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Eoin Morgan(c), Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Related: T20 World Cup Winners Since 2007 and Favourites to win 2021 WC

New Zealand Playing 11: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), Devon Conway(w), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

For more T20 World Cup news, click here

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article