IND vs SA: Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed added to India squad for India vs South Africa T20I series

Updated on: Sep 26, 2022 10:51 pm IST

  • Shreyas Iyer and Shahbaz Ahmed

    After a thumping win over Australia in the T20I series, India is all set to clash with South Africa in the three-match T20I series. The first game will be played in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday (28th September) followed by the second and third games to be played on October 2nd and October 4th in Guwahati and Indore respectively.

    IND vs SA: Shreyas Iyer and Shahbaz Ahmed added to the India squad for the South Africa series

    With just two days remaining for the commencement of the T20I series between India and South Africa, it is learned as per the reports in PTI BCCI has added Shreyas Iyer and Shahbaz Ahmed to their squad for the upcoming three-match series.

    Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022

    The development comes after it was learned that Deepak Hooda has been ruled out of the T20I series due to a back spasm and in his place, Iyer has been recalled into the India squad whereas Shahbaz has been called as a replacement for Hardik Pandya, who has been rested.

    Iyer was dropped from the Indian T20I squad and he recently played in the Duleep Trophy with West Zone and also won the trophy. On the other hand, Shahbaz was added to the squad because a source in BCCI mentioned that there was no other fast bowling option so they thought of giving all-rounder an opportunity.

    T20 world cup 2022 squads of all teams

    IND vs SA: Mohammad Shami also ruled out of the T20I series against South Africa

    Not only the development related to Shreyas Iyer and Shahbaz Ahmed hogged the headlines. But it is also learned as per the reports that Mohammad Shami  has failed to recover from yeh Covid-19 and has been ruled out of the series against South Africa. In his place Umesh Yadav, who was named as a replacement him for Australia series, will continue to be with the squad.

    Here’s India’s revised squad for the T20I series against South Africa

    Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Shahbaz Ahmed, Arshdeep Singh, Umesh Yadav, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

    Who will win T20 world cup 2022?

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article