IND vs SA: Who won India vs South Africa 1st T20I? Check the winner of Man of the Match Award

Updated on: Sep 28, 2022 10:42 pm IST

  • India vs South Africa

    IND vs SA: The three-match T20I series between India and South Africa kick started on Wednesday (28th September) with a high-octane first game at Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. It was a game that saw bowlers of both the sides dominating the batters but in the end it was the Indian batsmen who held their nerves and clinched the game for their side

    IND vs SA: India beats South Africa by 8 wickets to take 1-0 lead in the series 

    Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bowl first. His decision to ball first came out pretty well as Deepak Chahar (2/24) and Arshdeep Singh (3/32) wrecked havoc across the South African top order and left them tumbling at 9/5.

    Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022

    Aiden Markram (25), Wayne Parnell (26) and Keshav Maharaj (41) then played handy knocks for their side but it wasn’t enough as Harshal Patel (2/26) and Axar Patel (1/16) took three wickets amongst them to restrict South Africa to the total of 106/8.

    South Africa then made life difficult for Indian batters and removing India skipper Rohit Sharma for duck, Virat Kohli for 3 and making KL Rahul (51*in 57 Balls) absolutely clueless. Suryakumar Yadav (50*) then led the charge with his stroke play and smashed a wonderful half-century to guide his team to the 8-wicket victory and take 1-0 lead in the series. 

    T20 world cup 2022 squads of all teams

    IND vs SA: Who won Man of the Match award in first T20I between India and South Africa

    Indian left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh was awarded Man of the Match in the first T20I against South Africa in Thiruvananthapuram. The pacer made the opposition batter look clueless and rattled the Proteas top order.

    The Punjab pacer exhibited high-class swing blowing and upfront and removed Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw and David Miller to return with the figures of 3/32.

    Who will win T20 world cup 2022?

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article