India Squad Announced for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Check official update

Updated on: Sep 12, 2022 6:51 pm IST

  • India squad for T20 WC: In a massive breaking news development, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced their official 15-member India squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to take place in Australia later this year. After a disastrous ICC T20 World Cup 2021 campaign where the Men in Blue ended up suffering back-to-back losses against arch-rivals Pakistan and New Zealand during the group stage of the T20 competition, they will be eyeing for some crucial improvement. India will kickstart their T20 World Cup 2022 journey with an important opening game against arch-rivals Pakistan on 23 October, 2022 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

    India Squad Announced for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

    The biggest update has finally been unveiled and the confirmed India squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is out. The pace bowling duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel are making their return after having completely recovered from their respective injury issues. Another major update is that premier all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is unavailable due to a knee injury. Incidentally the national selectors have not picked both speedster Avesh Khan and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi in the 15-member squad, however, they were part of the Indian side during the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022 in the UAE. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik are the two frontline wicket-keepers in the squad. A total of four stand-by players have also been named as Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi.

    India Squad

    Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

    Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

    Probable India Playing 11

    1.Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Rishabh Pant (wk)
    5. Suryakumar Yadav
    6. Hardik Pandya
    7. Axar Patel
    8. Harshal Patel
    9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
    10. Yuzvendra Chahal
    11. Jasprit Bumrah

    Related: Highest Score for India in each format

    Related: Most hundreds among active cricketers

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article