Cricket News
| On Nov 17, 2021 2:26 PM IST

India vs New Zealand: Kane Williamson Pulls out of T20I Series. Who will be NZ Captain?


New Zealand are the proud runners up of the recently concluded WT20 in UAE which was hosted by India. They made it to the final of the tournament against all odds and were smacked by Australians, their big brother in the final to hand over Australia their maiden WT20 trophy in 14 years since the inception of T20 world cup.

Kane Williamson unavailable for T20Is versus India

New Zealand have landed in India after the final of WT20 in Dubai where they will play 3 T20Is and 2 tests that will be included in the WTC cycle. With little to no turn around time for the players, Kane Williamson, the Kiwi captain has made himself unavailable for the all important 2 test series which will be a huge challenge compared to the shortest format of the  game.

IND vs NZ in T20I: Most Runs and Most Wickets among active cricketers

The experienced veteran fast bowler Tim Southee who has captained New Zealand in the past on several occasions in the absence of Kane Williamson will once again don the captain’s hat in this series. He is not new to captaincy and has a good cricketing brain to lead the team in Kane Williamson’s absence.

As far as NZ batting is concerned, this will surely be a huge blow as their top order looks fragile without their skipper. This opens the door for Tim Seifert and Mark Chapman who will be looking to grab this opportunity with both hands. New Zealand also don’t have Devon Conway who has become a mainstay in the last year for New Zealand across formats. The southpaw missed the final after making a handy contribution with the bat in the semi final against England.

India vs New Zealand: India squad announced for Test Series. Check Details

The express fast bowler Lockie Ferguson who missed the entire WT20 due to injury is expected to be available for the series against India. With 5 quality fast bowlers, New Zealand will look to rest Trent Boult to keep him fresh for the test series.

New Zealand squad for T20Is

Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Tim Siefert, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson

IND vs NZ T20I Series 2021: Predicting Best Batsmen and Bowlers from Team India


Taking the life out of me is better than taking cricket from me. Welcome to my world which gives nothing but happening stories in the cricketing world