IPL Orange Cap List – Most Runs in IPL (2008 to 2023)

Updated on: May 29, 2023 9:28 pm IST

IPL Orange Cap List

The IPL Orange Cap is a prestigious cap awarded to the batsman who scores the most runs in a single season of the Indian Premier League. Over the years, the Orange Cap has been claimed by some of the most talented and prolific batsmen around the world. From the inaugural season in 2008 to the latest edition in 2023, each year has witnessed a new winner adding their name to the illustrious list.

IPL Orange Cap List

The list of IPL Orange Cap winners includes renowned names such as Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, David Warner, and Virat Kohli, among others. These exceptional batsmen have showcased their mastery of the game by consistently accumulating runs and making significant contributions to their respective teams. Check the list of IPL Orange winner over the years.

Year Player Team Runs Innings Matches
2008 Shaun Marsh Kings XI Punjab 616 11 11
2009 Matthew Hayden Chennai Super Kings 572 12 12
2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 618 15 15
2011 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 608 12 12
2012 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 733 15 15
2013 Michael Hussey Chennai Super Kings 733 17 16
2014 Robin Uthappa Kolkata Knight Riders 660 16 16
2015 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 562 14 14
2016 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 973 16 16
2017 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 641 14 14
2018 Kane Williamson Sunrisers Hyderabad 735 17 17
2019 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 692 12 12
2020 KL Rahul Kings XI Punjab 670 14 14
2021 Shikhar Dhawan Delhi Capitals 618 17 17
2022 Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals 863 17 17
2023 Shubman Gill Gujarat Titans 890 17 17

Who won Orange Cap in IPL 2023?

Shubman Gill won Orange Cap in IPL 2023 for a prolific tournament. He scored 890 runs, including three hundreds.

Related IPL Purple Cap List

Shaun Marsh was the first ever holder of the IPL Orange Cap. He joined Kings XI Punjab after the first or second week of the competition and was exponential in taking Kings XI to the top 4 in that season. Marsh was the one to set the tone for the rest of the IPL seasons and make it a blockbuster event.

David Warner – 3 Time Orange Cap Winner

The IPL Orange Cap list has been sheerly dominated by one of IPL’s greatest ever overseas batters David Warner. The left-hander has won the Orange Cap not once, not twice but on three occasions. Warner has represented Delhi and Hyderabad Franchise ever-since the commencement of the league and has won the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017, and 2019 editions scoring 562 runs (14 innings), 641 runs (14 innings), and 692 runs (12 innings) respectively.

Related IPL Winner List

IPL 2016, the year of Virat Kohli

Over the years, we have seen many batters dominating IPL Orange Cap list with authority, but something unparalleled took place in the 2016 season. The then RCB captain Virat Kohli was at his brutal best scoring 973 runs in just 16 innings. The numbers were definitely outrageous and the record of scoring the most runs in a single season still belongs to the prolific right hander.

Related Most Sixes in IPL Season

Follow us on Google News


Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article