IPL Purple Cap List – Most Wickets in IPL (2008 to 2023)

Updated on: May 30, 2023 1:37 am IST

IPL Purple Cap List

Another edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is about to come to an end that has witnessed some staggering bowling performances. It has always been a moment of honour and pride for any bowler to win the IPL Purple Cap as seen over the years.

IPL Purple Cap List

The leading wicket-taker in the entire edition of the IPL gets his hands on the Purple Cap and there have been many legendary names who are part of this IPL Purple Cap List from IPL 2008 to IPL 2023.

Year Player Team Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 22
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 21
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 28
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 32
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 26
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 24
2019 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 30
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 27
2023 Mohammad Shami Gujarat Titans 28

Who won Purple Cap in IPL 2023?

Mohammad Shami won Purple Cap in IPL 2023 with 28 wickets in the bag.

Related IPL Winner List

Incidentally, it was Pakistan’s left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir who won the first-ever Purple Cap during IPL 2008 where he picked up as many as 22 wickets. Only three spinners have won the Purple Cap in the history of the Indian Premier League so far as Pragyan Ojha in 2010 while the leg-spinner duo of Imran Tahir and Yuzvendra Chahal achieved the milestone in 2019 and 2022 respectively.

India’s senior pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in the history of the IPL to win the Purple Cap twice in consecutive seasons in 2016 and 2017. Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel hold the joint record for most wickets in a single edition of the IPL which is 32.

Related IPL Orange Cap List

Both Bravo and Bhuvneshwar are the only bowlers to have won the Purple Cap in more than one season of the Indian Premier League. The likes of RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Mohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal are the Indian players part of the IPL Purple Cap list from 2008 to 2022.

Related Most Sixes in IPL Season

Follow us on Google News

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article