List of IPL Team Owners: Who own Indian Premier League Teams?

Updated on: Dec 20, 2022 3:36 pm IST

List of IPL Team Owners: Who own Indian Premier League Teams?

IPL team owners play a big role in building the team. In the Indian Premier League, they are involved in choosing the players to represent the franchise, arranging facilities and providing all other necessary support. Here is the list of IPL owners for Indian Premier League 2022 edition.

Team Owners
Chennai Super Kings India Cements
Mumbai Indians Mukesh Ambani
Royal Challengers Bangalore United Spirits
Sunrisers Hyderabad SUN Group
Delhi Capitals JSW & GMR Group
Punjab Kings Preity Zinta & Ness Wadia
Rajasthan Royals Emerging Media IPL Ltd
Kolkata Knight Riders Red Chillies Entertainment & Mehta Group
Lucknow Super Giants RPSG Group
Gujarat Titans CVC Capital

1. Chennai Super Kings owner

The most successful side in the tournament’s history, Chennai Super Kings is owned by India Cements, a cement manufacturing company based in Chennai. The man behind the team has been Managing Director of Indian Cements, N Srinivasan.

2. Mumbai Indians owner

The team with most titles in the Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians is owned by Mukesh Ambani, the chairman and managing director of Reliance Industries. The whole family of Ambani are known to support the team through thick and thin over the years.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore owner

The RCB team have enjoyed a huge fan base due to the presence of talented T20 cricketers over the years. The United Spirits, alcoholic beverages company is the owner of the franchise. From 2008 until 2016, Vijay Mallya owned RCB. But after his resignation, the company takes care of the franchise.

4. Sunrisers Hyderabad owner

SRH are owned by SUN Group, currently owns and operates 33 TV channels across different languages. The daughter of founder, Kaviya Maran has been active in supporting the team in the stadium.

5. Delhi Capitals owner

The franchise which has sealed the playoffs spot for the last 3 editions, DC is owned by GMR Group and JSW Group in a joint partnership. Both the companies are giant in their areas.

6. Punjab Kings owner

One of the most unsuccessful franchises in the Indian Premier League, Punjab Kings is owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul. The Bollywood actress Preity Zinta has been flocking to the stadiums in each edition.

7. Rajasthan Royals owner

The franchise known to unearth young Indian talent in the IPL, Rajasthan Royals is owned by Emerging Media Pvt Ltd. Until 2015, the actress Shilpa Shetty and his husband Raj Kundra owned around 12% stake, but had to sell their stake amid fixing scandal.

8. Kolkata Knight Riders owner

One of the most celebrated teams, which was lifted title 2 times in the Indian Premier League, KKR is owned in a joint partnership with Red Chillies Entertainment (55%) & Mehta Group (45%). The owner of Red Chillies is Shahrukh Khan, while couple Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla manage Mehta Group.

9. Lucknow Super Giants owner

LSG franchise will be making their debut in IPL 2022, and is owned by RP- Sanjeev Goenka Group, Indian multinational conglomerate who provide services in power, tyre, technology, and transmission sectors. The company also owned Rising Pune Super Giants, which featured in 2016 and 2017 editions.

10. Gujarat Titans owner

The CVC Capital, British private equity and investment advisory firm won the bid for the Gujarat Titans, who will be the 2nd team to feature in their first season.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article