| On Oct 10, 2021 7:28 PM IST

Sri Lanka’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021 Announced. Check Player List


Sri Lanka have named their final 15 for the upcoming WT20 that is set to take place in Oman and UAE from October 17th. Sri Lanka need to play the qualifiers before playing the Super 12 against the big boys. They are in group B along with Namibia, Ireland and Netherlands. This won’t be a cakewalk for the one time WT20 champion in Sri Lanka as all the other 3 teams in their group are no pushovers themselves.

Four pacers in Sri Lanka’s squad for T20 world cup

Sri Lanka have picked 3 out and out pacers in the form of Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, and Lahiru Kumara along with Chamika Karunaratne who is a bowling all rounder. The wickets in UAE as we saw aid spinners big time and Sri Lanka have all bases covered with respect to spinners as well.

Top 10 IPL Bowlers of All Time

They have world’s second best spinner in Wanindu Hasaranga in their ranks who is also handy with the bat down the order nonetheless. They have mystery spinners in Maheesh Theekshana and Akila Dananjaya along with part timer Dhananjaya de Silva who also happens to be the vice captain of the side.

As far as their batting is concerned, they have the experience of Kusal Perera and Dinesh Chandimal along with the explosive Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa in the middle order. Another southpaw who has been impressive for Sri Lanka in the last few series has been Charith Asalanka who adds a lot of value to their middle order.

Most dangerous batsman in IPL RANKED

They badly need their captain Dasun Shanaka to regain his form with the bat as their lower middle order depends entirely on him. All in all, this is a promising squad from Sri Lanka and they will be hoping to qualify for the super 12 which will be their primary target.

Sri Lanka squad for T20 world cup

Dasun Shanaka – Captain, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva – Vice Captain, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando


Fastest century in IPL | Indian Premier League Batting Records


Taking the life out of me is better than taking cricket from me. Welcome to my world which gives nothing but happening stories in the cricketing world