Cricket News
| On Feb 22, 2022 7:31 PM IST

The Hundred Retentions and Draft Date Details


The Hundred certainly brought revolution to the new age cricket, and attracted more people due to the teams having the names of their respective city/districts, and people felt more attached and cheered in large number at the stadiums. The 2021 tournament, which was a 1 month affair got concluded on August 21, with Southern Brave winning the inaugural season. Here is the latest news about retentions of all the teams.

The Hundred Retentions and Draft Date Details

The second season of The Hundred is expected to start from 22 August, and the retentions have been announced by all the 8 teams. There are 7 overseas players, who have been retained by the teams. A total number of 42 players will be picked in the draft on March 30, with 17 overseas spots and 25 domestic players.

The ECB has sent the full list of retained players of The Hundred for 2022 on Tuesday.  The Test players marked in the list will be available for limited matches. Here is the list for all the teams.

Southern Brave

Jofra Archer (Test), Marcus Stoinis, James Vince, Tymal Mills, Chris Jordan, George Garton, Alex Davies, Jake Lintott, Tim David, Ross Whiteley, Craig Overton

Read: Highest Score in T20 International by a Player

Birmingham Phoenix

Chris Woakes (Test), Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Adam Milne, Benny Howell, Tom Abell, Will Smeed, Chris Benjamin, Miles Hammond, Henry Brookes

Trent Rockets

Joe Root, Dawid Malan (both Test), Rashid Khan, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Marchant de Lange, Luke Wood, Samit Patel, Matt Carter, Steven Mullaney, Sam Cook, Tom Moores

Oval Invincibles

Sam Curran, Rory Burns (both Test), Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Saqib Mahmood, Reece Topley, Jordan Cox, Nathan Sowter

Northern Superchargers

Retained: Ben Stokes (Test), Adil Rashid, David Willey, Faf du Plessis, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Matthew Potts, John Simpson, Adam Lyth, Callum Parkinson

Manchester Originals

Retained: Jos Buttler, Ollie Robinson (both Test), Phil Salt, Matt Parkinson, Jamie Overton, Tom Hartley, Tom Lammonby, Colin Ackermann, Wayne Madsen, Fred Klaassen, Calvin Harrison

Read: WATCH Haris Rauf Slaps Lahore Qalandars teammate in PSL 2022

Welsh Fire

Retained: Jonny Bairstow, Ollie Pope (both Test), Ben Duckett, Jake Ball, David Payne, Leus du Plooy, Matt Critchley, Ryan Higgins, Josh Cobb

London Spirit
Retained: Zak Crawley, Mark Wood (both Test), Glenn Maxwell, Eoin Morgan, Mason Crane, Dan Lawrence, Adam Rossington, Ravi Bopara, Blake Cullen, Brad Wheal

Draft Details and Players Availability for The Hundred 2022

  • Londo Spirit will be the first team to pick players from the draft.
  • Teams are allowed to field 3 overseas players in Playing 11.
  • Teams will be allowed to use a Right to Match Card for resigning 2021 players.

Read: Why Rohit Sharma is God of IPL?

Players Availability:

  • England Test players are feature in first 3 Group Matches and knockout stages.
  • Australia and New Zealand players will be available due to no international schedule.

For more cricket news, click here

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.