| On Sep 20, 2021 7:12 PM IST

Venkatesh Iyer IPL: Quick stats and facts about KKR’s debutant


Venkatesh Iyer IPL: In the first match for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 Phase 2, Venkatesh Iyer is all set to make his debut against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). In his 200th IPL encounter, RCB captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Quick stats and facts about Venkatesh Iyer IPL

Venkatesh Iyer was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders at his base price of INR 20 lakhs in February 2021. While playing domestic cricket for Madhya Pradesh, Iyer has scored 724 runs in 38 T20 matches at a strike-rate of 137.64 that includes two fifties as well. He also has a fine record with the ball picking up 21 wickets in 29 innings at an economy of 6.98. The 26-year-old all-rounder hailing from Indore is an exciting talent and can be really effective both with the bat and ball for KKR in this game against RCB.

Kolkata Knight Riders Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna.

Related: Trent Boult Takes an Unbelievable Catch to dismiss MS Dhoni – WATCH

Related: Angry MS Dhoni Fumes at Dwayne Bravo over Dropped Catch – WATCH


On the other side, the Royal Challengers Bangalore also have two debutants in this match as the duo of KS Bharat and Wanindu Hasaranga will be making their IPL debut. In the first half of the IPL 2021 season, RCB gave a few opportunities to guys like Rajat Patidar and Shahbaz Ahmed but now in the UAE leg, they have gone ahead with KS Bharat and Sachin Baby. The Royal Challengers Bangalore are placed at the third position on the points table while Kolkata Knight Riders are languishing at the seventh spot.

Related: Virat Kohli to Step Down as RCB Captain After IPL 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore Playing XI: Virat Kohli(c), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat(w), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sachin Baby, Kyle Jamieson, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal.

For more IPL 2021 news, click here