Cricket News
| On May 14, 2022 2:12 PM IST

Who has scored most runs in IPL tournament?


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is arguably one of the toughest tournaments in the world of cricket and churning runs consistenly certainly is a great challenge.

Let’s take a look at the top five players with most runs in IPL tournament’s single edition.

Player Runs IPL Edition
Virat Kohli 973 2016
David Warner 848 2016
Kane Williamson 735 2018
Mike Hussey 733 2013
Chris Gayle 733 2012

1. Virat Kohli – IPL 2016 – 973 runs

IPL 2016 belonged to Virat Kohli who showcased a never seen before avatar in the cash-rich tournament. The then RCB skipper racked 973 runs across 16 innings, in the process, bashing 4 hundreds and 7 fifties, all while averaging 81.08 and striking in excess of 150. Though Kohli missed out on a chance to grab hold of the trophy, his onslaughts with the willow made the cricket fraternity bow down to his prowess.

Hat Trick in IPL 

2. David Warner – IPL 2016 – 848 runs

Arguably one of the most complete cricketers in terms of the skillset that he brings as a leader and a batsman in this format, David Warner looked like a man possessed during IPL 2016, where he didn’t shy away from any scoring opportunity that came his way. At the same time, his tactical prowess proved dividends as Sunrisers Hyderabad managed to get their hands onto the IPL trophy in the end. With the willow, Warner hoarded 848 runs in 17 innings at an average of 60.57 and a mind-numbing strike rate of 151.43, with 9 half-centuries and a high score of 93* in the 2nd Qualifier against Gujarat Lions. Not to forget, his match-winning 69 off 38 in the Final, which turned out to be a deciding factor in SRH’s 8-run triumph.

3. Kane Williamson – IPL 2018 – 735 runs

A calm, composed and calculative batter, Kane Williamson was in a league of his own during IPL 2018 where he donned the skipper’s role for Sunrisers Hyderabad and led them to the Final. The right-hander averaged 52.50 and maintained a striking rate of 142.44 to pile up 735 runs in 17 innings that comprised 8 half-centuries and the best score of 84 against the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings during the league stage.

4. Michael Hussey – IPL 2013 – 733 runs

Nicknamed Mr. Cricket, Michael Hussey was one of the mainstays in the Chennai Super Kings’ batting lineup. The Australian run-machine was a menace in the 2013 edition of the tournament, where he cracked up 6 fifties in 17 innings and ended up compiling 733 runs at an average and strike rate of 52.36 and 129.51 respectively. What was arguably a seminal knock for the opening batter was during the 1st Qualifier against Mumbai Indians, where he struck a 58-ball 86 to marshal CSK straightaway to the Final.

Most centuries in IPL

5. Chris Gayle – IPL 2012 – 733 runs

Entertainer to the core and the most ferocious batsman on his day, Chris Gayle went ballistic in his maiden run with the Royal Challengers Bangalore. The southpaw amassed 733 runs in 14 innings while striking at an average of 61.08 and a jaw-dropping strike rate of 160.75. He struck 7 fifties and a hundred, with the most notable knock being the 128* against the Delhi Daredevils in their own den – a night that witnessed the Caribbean giant smash 7 fours and  13 sixes.  

Follow us on Google News

V Shashank

Sports fanatic to the core.