ISL Winners List – Champions from All Seasons since first edition

Updated on: Dec 9, 2021 4:02 pm IST

ISL Winners List

ISL Winners List – As the 2021-22 season of the Indian Super League goes ahead in full steam, we take a look at some of the winners and losers over the years. There have been a lot of great teams in the Indian Super League (ISL) over the years. But which one is the best?

ISL Winners List

From new clubs making their mark to perennial contenders lifting the trophy, here is a rundown of who has come out on top in India’s top football competition.

Here’s a list of ISL Winner over the years

2020/21 Mumbai City FC 2-1 ATK Mohun Bagan
2019/20 Atlético de Kolkata 3-1 Chennaiyin FC
2018/19 Bengaluru FC 1-0 FC Goa
2017/18 Chennaiyin FC 3-2 Bengaluru FC
2016/17 Atlético de Kolkata 1-1(4-3) pen. Kerala Blasters
2015/16 Chennaiyin FC 3-2 FC Goa
2014/15 Atlético de Kolkata 1-0 Kerala Blasters

The first season of the ISL was in 2014, and since then there have been four different teams that have won it. Let’s take a closer look at each one of them.

2020/21 – Mumbai City FC

The Islanders won their first ISL title last year, with the City Football Group holding a major stake in the team. Sergio Lobera, a former FC Goa coach, was appointed as the team’s coach, and numerous big-name players such as Adam Le Fondre and Hugo Boumous were signed. Mumbai swept the league, winning the League Winners Shield and securing a berth in the AFC Champions League. In the finals, they pipped Bengal heavyweights ATK Mohun Bagan to the title.

2019/20 – ATK

After two disappointing seasons, ATK re-appointed Antonio Lopez Habas as their head coach for the 2019-20 ISL season. Inspired by Roy Krishna and David Williams, ATK were exceptional in the group stages. After defeating Chennaiyin FC 3-1 in the ISL final of the 2019-20 season, ATK became the first side to win the ISL three times.

2018/19- Bengaluru FC

The Blues, captained by Albert Roca, finished first in the ISL points table and faced second-placed FC Goa at Mumbai’s Andheri Stadium. Both sides were in excellent form heading into the final, which turned out to be a very tactical affair. After 117 minutes of deadlock, Rahul Bheke scored a stunning header to clinch Bengaluru’s maiden trophy.

2017/18 – Chennaiyin FC

The Marina Machans shone once again, this time with former Aton Villa coach John Gregory at the helm. ISL newcomers and I-League giants Bengaluru FC were possibly favorites but they came up short. Chennaiyin FC tactically outwitted Sunil Chetri and co. to defeat them 3-2 in the finals!

2016/17- ATK

ATK won the Indian Super League for the second time, defeating Kerala Blasters in a nail-biting penalty shootout at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, Kerala. The match went to a shootout when the score remained 1–1 after extra time. With some jaw-dropping saves from their goalkeeper Debjit Majumder, ATK won the shoot-out 4–3 and became two-time champions.

Related IPL Teams and their owners 2022

2015/16 – Chennaiyin FC

The appearance of Sunil Chettri, the Indian football hero, enhanced attention even further for ISL’s already smashing following. Chennaiyin FC took home the silverware this time. With Marco Materazzi, an Italian World Cup champion, taking over as head coach, the club received the much-needed boost to go all the way. Chennaiyin defeated FC Goa 3-2 in the final at the Fatorda Stadium, with Columbian attacker Steven Mendoza scoring the winner.

Related ISL Teams and their owners 2022

2014/15 – ATK

The inaugural season of the ISL was a star-studded affair with some of the biggest names in football involved. While Atletico de Kolkata depended on their tenacious defence and the tactical skill of head coach Antonio Lopez Habas to reach the final, Kerala Blasters FC benefited through the sheer brilliance of Canadian striker Iain Hume. In the dying minutes of the game, Mohammed Rafique scored to send Atletico de Kolkata’s fans into raptures.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article