Categories: Cricket News
| On Jun 22, 2021 11:33 PM IST

ENG vs SL 1st T20I: Possible Playing 11 of Sri Lanka


SL Playing 11: An inexperienced Sri Lanka will take on England in the first T20I of the series here at Cardiff. Led by Kusal Perera, the Lankans have promised to play fearless cricket. They will be up against the World No. 1 side and are likely to face tough competition. The head-to-head record between these two teams is a close one with England leading 5-4. With pitch likely to be batter-friendly, we might be in for a high-scoring contest here.

Nuwan Pradeep has returned to the squad while Ashen Bandara has been left out from the last Bangladesh tour. Senior players like Mathews and Chandimal remain out of the contention.

SL Playing 11 (likely)

Kusal Perera (C)
Danushka Gunathilaka
Pathum Nissanka
Kusal Mendis
Dhananjaya de Silva
Niroshan Dickwella (wk)
Dasun Shanaka
Wanindu Hasaranga
Isuru Udana
Akila Dananjaya
Dushmantha Chameera

SL have a solid top order with many attacking batters like Kusal Perera and Gunathilaka. T20 format suits Perera’s style and he will look to lead from the front. The middle order looks brittle with lack of experience. Hasaranga will be a threat to English batters as he has the variations to be successful in this format. Chameera will look to continue his good form from the last series against Bangladesh.

READ: ENG vs SL 1st T20I: Possible Playing 11 of England

SL Squad

Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama.

Where to Watch ENG vs SL 1st T20I Live

You can watch the ball by ball and the Live score coverage of the England vs Sri Lanka match on Sony Sports Network and Sony Liv. The match will be played on 23 June and will start at 11:00 pm (IST).

READ: Gill takes a stunner to dismiss Ross Taylor: WATCH

Monojit Das

An avid reader and follower of cricket