Categories: Cricket NewsIPL News
| On Oct 8, 2021 7:13 PM IST

SRH vs MI IPL 2021 Match 55: Why is Kane Williamson Not Playing? Who is SRH Captain Today?


Kane Williamson not playing today in SRH vs MI: In a massive news coming in from today’s Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 match, Sunrisers Hyderabad regular captain Kane Williamson is not playing against Mumbai Indians (MI). In his absence, Manish Pandey is captaining the Sunrisers Hyderabad for the first time in the Indian Premier League history. The match is being played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Why is Kane Williamson Not Playing?

It was a big surprise for all the Sunrisers Hyderabad fans as their regular captain Kane Williamson was not there for the toss as he misses out due to a slight injury. Manish Pandey returned to the playing 11 as well as took over the reigns as the stand-in captain for today’s match against Mumbai Indians. MI captain Rohit Sharma won an important toss and opted to bat first. Also, in an important fact, SRH’s senior pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar is not playing today due to an injury.

“My first game as IPL captain. Last minute call. Kane had a niggle on his elbow, Bhuvi has a niggle too. We would have batted first too. We will look to bowl first and look to give Bombay little chance. I know they are going to come all guns blazing but we are ready,” said SRH captain Manish Pandey at the toss.

SRH Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Jason Roy
Wriddhiman Saha
Manish Pandey
Priyam Garg
Abdul Samad
Mohammad Nabi
Abhishek Sharma
Jason Holder
Rashid Khan
Umran Malik
Siddarth Kaul

Related: Quick Stats and Facts About Umran Malik IPL Debutant

Related: Deepak Chahar Girlfriend Jaya Bhardwaj Marriage Proposal – WATCH

SRH vs MI IPL 2021 Match 55:

On the other hand, in a must-win game, the Mumbai Indians have also made a couple of changes in their playing XI from the previous game. The spin duo of Piyush Chawla and Krunal Pandya have been included in place of Saurabh Tiwary and Jayant Yadav. Piyush Chawla will be playing his first IPL match for the Mumbai Indians.

Related: Ruturaj Gaikwad Hundred with 108M SIX in IPL 2021 – WATCH

MI Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Ishan Kishan
Rohit Sharma
Suryakumar Yadav
Hardik Pandya
James Neesham
Kieron Pollard
Krunal Pandya
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Piyush Chawla
Trent Boult
Jasprit Bumrah

For more IPL 2021 news, click here



Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.