IPL News
| On Sep 11, 2021 5:48 PM IST

IPL 2021: Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes and Dawid Malan Pull out of Phase 2 in the UAE. Check Details


After the 5th test between India and England was cancelled, all eyes went on to the covid related arrangements of the respective boards and organizers. It was also said that Ravi Shastri and Kohli attended the Book Launch event, which was a major trigger of the spread of the covid cases in the Indian camp. Almost all the players have taken the flight to UAE for playing in the IPL 2021. But, there is another massive news coming from England regarding the Indian Premier League.

Bairstow, Woakes, and Malan Pull Out of IPL 2021 Phase 2

The England players have always been apprehensive before the big ICC tournaments or the Ashes. They use certain strategy of resting themselves to improve their performance before the important tournaments. In a major turn of events, top England players, Bairstow, Woakes, and Malan have pulled out of the IPL 2021 Phase 2.

Related: T20 World Cup: England Squad Announced. Check Details

All the three players were a part of the 4th Test against Indian team at The Oval, London. The major reason for their withdrawal is linked to the busy cricket season for the England team. These players are named in the England T20 World Cup squad that is scheduled to be played in October-November. By playing in the IPL, there is a slight possibility of covid-related concerns, and they would not want to risk their careers. Additionally, the Ashes will also be played from December, which will also involve special quarantine conditions.

Who are rest of the England Players participating in IPL 2021?

With the withdrawl of these 3 players, along with Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, a total of 10 players will feature in the IPL 2021 Phase 2. Here are the rest of the players with their respective teams,

Moeen Ali, Sam Curran–  Chennai Super Kings
Tom Curran, Sam Billings– Delhi Capitals

IPL 2021: When will India Players leave UK for IPL Phase 2?

Eoin Morgan–  Kolkata Knight Riders
George Garton– Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid–  Punjab Kings
Liam Livingstone–  Rajasthan Royals
Jason Roy– Sunrisers Hyderabad

For more IPL news, click here

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.