Cricket News
| On Dec 2, 2021 10:34 AM IST

Who has played most IPL matches as captain?


Who has played most IPL matches as captain? Apart from being a fantastic platform for the youngsters, the Indian Premier League has helped the players to get leadership experience as well.

Who has played most IPL matches as captain?

The league has a participation of all the top T20 players around the world, and the overseas cricket boards have more than often provided a no objection certificate to its players. The captain of each IPL team has to take credible and intelligent decisions against the quality opposition, which prepares them well for the international cricket as well.

IPL best captain

Here’s the list of most IPL matches as captain

IPL captain Matches Wins Loss NR/Tie Win %
MS Dhoni 204 121 82 1 59.60
Virat Kohli 140 64 69 7 48.16
Gautam Gambhir 129 71 57 1 55.42
Rohit Sharma 129 75 50 4 59.68
Adam Gilchrist 74 35 39 0 47.29

MS Dhoni – The most IPL matches as a captain has been played by the legendary  MS Dhoni for the Chennai Super Kings team with 204 matches, and a winning ratio of 59.60%. He has helped the CSK team to win the titles 4 times in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2020 season.

Virat Kohli
: The leading run scorer for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team had been a guiding force to groom the youngsters. Under his captaincy, the team has not been able to lift any titles but came close in 2016 and 2021 season. He has 48.16% of wins in 140 matches of the tournament as a captain.

Related Virat Kohli Net Worth, Income, IPL Salary

Gautam Gambhir
: The former captain was influential in the title wins of 2012 and 2014 for the Kolkata Knight Riders team. In both the tournaments, he was one of the highest run scorers as well. In 129 matches, Gambhir has won 55.42% of them.

Related Dangerous batsman of IPL

Rohit Sharma: Rohit is the most successful captain in the Indian Premier League with 5 titles and 59.68% wins. He is leading the Mumbai Indians team from the 2013 season and has been one of the best batters in the tournament history as well.

Adam Gilchrist: The wicket keeper batsman captained the Deccan Chargers and Kings XI Punjab ( Now Punjab Kings) franchise from 2008-2013. In 74 matches, he secured a win in 35 matches, with a 42.79 % ratio.

Related IPL Team Owners 2022


Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.