IPL Chairman: Take a look at the IPL Chairpersons over the years

Updated on: Feb 13, 2023 2:07 pm IST

IPL Chairman

IPL Chairman: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most popular and lucrative cricket league in the world. Since its inception in 2008, the league has seen a number of changes and developments, including the appointment of various chairmen. These chairmen have played a crucial role in shaping the direction and success of the league. Now, let’s take a look at IPL chairmen over the years.

IPL Chairman over the years

1. Lalit Modi

IPL Chairman

The first chairman of the IPL was Lalit Modi, who was appointed in 2008. Modi was instrumental in the formation of the league and played a key role in its successful launch. Under his leadership, the IPL was able to attract top-level talent from around the world, and the league quickly became a global phenomenon. However, Modi’s tenure was marred by controversies, including allegations of financial improprieties. He was eventually removed from his position in 2010.

2. Chirayu Amin

IPL Chairman

Chirayu Amin took over as the interim chairman of the IPL after Modi’s departure. Amin, who was also the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at the time, helped stabilize the league after Modi’s exit. He was in charge for one year and during his tenure, he ensured the smooth functioning of the league, and the tournament was completed without any major issues.

3. Rajeev Shukla

In 2011, Rajeev Shukla was appointed as the chairman of the IPL. Shukla, who is a former Member of Parliament, brought a wealth of experience and political acumen to the role. He helped establish the league as a major sporting event in India, and oversaw the expansion of the league from 8 teams to 10 teams. Under his leadership, the IPL also became more financially stable and saw an increase in sponsorship and revenue. He served as chairman for 7 years and resigned in 2018.

4. Brijesh Patel

Brijesh Patel took over the IPL chairman role in 2019. Patel has been associated with cricket for many years and has served as a member of the IPL Governing Council, as well as the BCCI. He is a former player and has a deep understanding of the game. Under his leadership, the IPL continued to grow and evolve, and has successfully navigated the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

5. Arun Singh Dhumal

IPL Chairman

The Indian Premier League is set to have a new leader as the chairman. Arun Singh Dhumal, who currently holds the position of treasurer for the Board of Control for Cricket in India, will take over the role from Brijesh Patel. Patel has been serving as the IPL chairman since 2019. This change in leadership brings new opportunities for the league to grow and develop under Dhumal’s guidance.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article