Kings XI Punjab

flag India
Ground: IS Bindra Stadium
Captain: Ravichandran Ashwin
Coach: Virender Sehwag
Owner: KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited
team stats

One of the most popular yet controversial franchise in the IPL, the Kings XI Punjab have had roller-coaster ride thus far. Owned by Dabur group‘s Mohit Burman, the Wadia group‘s Ness WadiaPriety Zinta and Saptarshi Dey of the Dev & Dev Group, the franchise, with the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Brett Lee and Shaun Marsh at their disposal, made a good start to the IPL after having qualified for the semi-finals in the inaugural season. The 2010 season saw the franchise on the verge of expulsion following the controversy surrounding the BCCI and Lalit Modi. The franchise owners moved to court and were reinstated following an intervention from the High Court.

On the cricket field too, the next few seasons would end up in dissapointment for Kings XI Punjab as they failed to qualify in the playoffs for a better part of five years.

The 2014 season came as a breath of fresh air, though. With the likes of Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Johnson into the fray coupled by shrewd captaincy from George Bailey, Kings XI made it to the finals of the championship only to be deprived by the Kolkata Knight Riders. A series of disappointments ensued again for the franchise and by the time 2018 auctions arrived, the franchise retained just one player in Axar Patel. In the auctions, the team has strengthened its core with the likes of Ashwin, Finch, Gayle, Stoinis and Yuvraj into the fray.

Upcoming matches